Don’t Come Back To Me

Okay, so I know you’re going back into the studio in February to record a sequel to your freshman CD, but please, for the love of all things Nickelback, can you work more on coming up with your own distinctive voice/style?

All this summer as I spend time at the beach, on vacation and out at about, I’d hear your hit song “Come Back To Me” and start wondering. I’d be sitting there drinking a margarita beach side and I’d hear your song and wrack my brain trying to figure out if it was Nickelback, Need To Breath, Daughtry, even Three Doors Down or any number of bands that sound identical only to remember, ah, yeah, that’s Baldy.

So why am I bitching about this today? Because there I was mindlessly perusing the sushi trays and tossing Woolite in my shopping cart down at my local Safeway grocery store a semi-familiar song wafted through the air and my mind went into its usual mental gyrations trying to try and id it. Sure enough, it was “Come Back To Me” I realized as I tossed a six pack of Newcastle in my cart in frustration.

That’s not a good start to a lasting career in the business. You need to be more ‘you’, more unique.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: ,

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

6 Comments on “Don’t Come Back To Me”

  1. Smartie Says:

    But he’s not unique and never was. He’s just a poor clone of soft cock rock; mindlessly repetitive shit chanted by drunks.

  2. Radio Birdman Says:

    I have to agree with Smartie. He’s a dime a dozen bar singer who made his way on AI. I don’t particularly dislike his style, it’s just the way it is.

  3. Ghausia Says:

    I dunno I love his songs man. I love Come Back To Me, I relate songs to the characters I write about and this reminded me of a situation in something I was writing plus its a sweet song! I mean, come on, the video was completely shitty and made zero sense but aww at the song!

    • freedavidcook Says:

      That’s good, you like his style and that’s fine. He just doesn’t do it for me.

      • freedavidcook Says:

        and okay, I admit I liked “Light On” I just never knew it was him, which proves my point about developing a uniqueness.. right now he’s one of a herd of sound the sames.


Leave a Reply

