Sell Out?

Someone brought up an interesting idea in the comments. Has David “Unbaldy” Cook sold out recently? Does the fact that he had hair replacement/prettying up, worked with Ryan “Cheese Ball Pop” Tedder, released a cheezy remake of a 80s hit and appeared in a fashion magazine mean that he sold his soul to the Devil wearing Prada for financial success?

I’m not entirely sure. What do you think?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

28 Comments on “Sell Out?”


  1. I voted “Other”. I think he’s just trying to wash the frau stink off of him. De-uglifying is the first and foremost way to do that.

  2. freedavidcook Says:

    You may have a point. Even Febreeze doesn’t clear that stench off.

  3. Burt Says:

    Does a new hairstyle and smartening up your image (which happened a year ago) equal selling out? No, it happens all the time.

    As for who he wrote with, it depends on the resulting music and what they do with it. He’s worked with a mixed bag of people, not all are poppy. His last album had pop elements to it so this could be no change.

    AI involvement is surely to help with promotion for the new album. He would have been dumb to turn it down and risk not being able to perform/promote at a later date. We all know he wouldn’t have had much say in the track they chose. On top of that, I’d be willing to bet he’s pretty loyal to AI but saying that, he must have priorities because he missed the AI finale to be at a charity event.

    A fashion magazine seemed an odd choice but maybe he’s trying to aim outside the current fans. Maybe he was advised to do it. Or maybe he just fancied it. Again, I think this is just wider album promotion.

    My gut says no, he’s not sold out. He’s not turning up to the opening of every envelope, there’s no new endorsement deals, he’s not promoting products via Twitter etc. He still operates very much under the radar and I just think he’s doing early promotion and working away to reach as many people as possible. Plus, he has charity events coming up which to me indicates someone who has very much not sold out.

    • Rubber Ducky Says:

      Did you want an audience whilst you give that loser a tongue bath or would you prefer to insert yourself up his rectum in solitude?

    • Jen Says:

      I agree with you on this.

      There are some of us here who are fans of his and just don’t like a certain subset of his fans. I’m not too ashamed to admit that.

  4. on the edge Says:

    Eh…I just don’t think it’s that deep (GOD, did I just quote Adam Lambert?). I can’t sit here and over-analyze why Cook does what he does. Just give me the music, if I like it I’ll buy it, and life goes on.

    • freedavidcook Says:

      I don’t think it’s that deep either but I can see why others might think it. He’s a guy, and let’s face it, a lot of guys just don’t think that deeply about stuff.

      • Burt Says:

        Despite my mini-essay, I don’t think so either.

        I don’t analyze anything usually, I replied to make the point that the examples in that comment were kind of dumb e.g. that an AI winner doing a cover song for AI could be considered selling out.

        Can’t we get back to highlighting the tardish behavior? Speaking of which, I saw an amazing TwitLonger recently. I wish we could have “Tweet to Dave of the Week” but I guess it’d break privacy rules?

    • Jen Says:

      Oh you mean you don’t want to infer that his food poisoning tweet was a call to have his fans pray for him (even though his pre-Idol Myspace had him as agnostic) because he felt “vulnerable”? Yes, actual ideas found on his website.

      • on the edge Says:

        No, I just found the idea of him having to pull over and shit or puke while driving from Arizona to California kind of funny. I figure if he’s tweeting about it he’s not exactly at death’s door.

        Yes, I saw that at DCO and rolled my eyes so hard I gave myself a headache.

      • Dani Says:

        Oh please, a link to this Jen? I’ll admit some tardish behavior back in the days of his touring (no, not “tewering”) but how long can you keep that up? Doesn’t real life start taking up your time?

      • Burt Says:

        Really? Wow. I read it and thought ew, then poor guy (had it and it’s not nice). I saw a few “I’d look after you” type tweets but missed the call for prayer.

        Sometimes I hope for his sanity he doesn’t read his @ replies often but other times I hope he does so he can get a kick out of it. He surely must laugh? Someone is listening to Christian music today to get them through until the album is released ๐Ÿ˜€

      • Jen Says:

        It was on the DWoP thread on DCO but you’d have to scroll back to the posts from yesterday or the day before.

  5. teska Says:

    via mjs’s…

    David Cook attends a party for Audrina Patridge at Drais Hollywood, sponsored by VH1 and Runway.

    srsly – a party for a famewhore from the show the hills, another fake ‘reality’ show…

    sell out beginning in 4,3,2…

    • Burt Says:

      I saw debate on Twitter about whether he was going. Runway, one of the party sponsors, is the magazine he’s in that just came out so I assumed if he was it was in support of that.

  6. redken Says:

    David Cook attends a party for Audrina Patridge at Drais Hollywood, sponsored by VH1 and Runway.

    http://mjsbigblog.com/

    a party for a famewhoring wannabe from that show with heidi montag and spencer pratt… srsly… let the sell out begin in 4,3,2…

  7. Cooks_FUFL Says:

    David tweeted he will not be going tonight:

    Another full day of rehearsal today, followed by nothing else. #NEWSfromtheSOURCE

    People may want to check his tweets before jumping on the sell-out bandwagon.

  8. Cooks_FUFL Says:

    I also see that teska and Redken are from the same IP. Why repeat yourself?

    • on the edge Says:

      Hmmm, yes…very sockpuppety. I noticed that and WTF’ed.

      • Cooks_FUFL Says:

        Speaking of sockpuppets, I wonder if “Holly” lost her job or has been off work lately. She and/or her puppets have been on DCU at all hours of the day and night, and “Holly” said awhile back that she couldn’t deal with drama on the board because of other drama in real life.

      • freedavidcook Says:

        I figured eventually her internet drama would catch up with her real life and something would blow. It would be too bad if it were her job. This is a tough economy to lose a job in, particularly if you’re too crazy to get another one..

        Too bad she cannot channel her sockpuppet energy into something money-making.

      • Rubber Ducky Says:

        Maybe she’s having a spell off work for being BSC. It won’t be the first time.

      • freedavidcook Says:

        I didn’t know there was internet access in the nut hut..

  9. WilcoIsAwesome Says:

    See, I have no problem with Ryan Tedder, because I met the guy a long time ago and he was really nice. Just kidding. That’s not the only reason why I’m going to defend DC writing with Tedder. The early One Republic albums are really good – I dig the songwriting on them. Just because he has written songs that Beyonce, Kelly Clarkson and other pop stars have sung doesn’t make him cheesy. At least not in my opinion. Songwriters, at least good ones, are able to write songs that span genres and I think that’s what Tedder does, much like Claude Kelly, Butch Walker, etc.

    *steps off soap box* I do agree about the Runway mag though…it’s such a fucking random ass magazine to be in for a dude. I am actually a DC fan and hope the album gets promoted a lot better and to a wider fan base, but it makes me wonder if no other mags were biting. Perplexed.

  10. Cooks_FUFL Says:

    Rubby ducky, you’re the one…sorry, had to do it. Old “Holly” has taken a break from RL before, huh? Hmmm…do tell! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Speaking of BSC, Cookphile on DCU has to be at or near the top of the list. She has almost 5400 posts on there! Of course, she could care less if David has a gf, but she keeps harping on it. She also seems to have some of her own sockpuppets to agree with her, or to pop in with gf news that support HER theories. And 29 years old? She saw that age 15-20 years ago!

    • Rubber Ducky Says:

      Maryann Ellis was forced to take time off from her job because of her BSC once upon a time. She had a lovely little vacation in a rubber room, or so the rumor goes. She has a history of ‘issues’ that date back to when she was rabid, racist, Claymate.


Leave a Reply

